Louisa County Recorder / Registrar
UTV and Snowmobile owners as of September 1st you may renew your UTV/Snowmobile registrations for 2023 for a fee of $18.50. The current registrations expire on December 31, 2023. A penalty of $5.00 will be added to registrations after the expiration date.
All Snowmobiles operating on any designated trail, public land or public ice must also display an Iowa DNR resident user permit decal for an additional fee of $18.50.
If you are interested in receiving a renewal notice via email please call 319-523-5361 or email firstname.lastname@example.org and provide us your name, email address, phone number and if you would like to be added to the Boat list, UTV/Snowmobile list or both.
A signature is required for all owners on the vehicle/vessel registration application. The addition of an owner on a title/registration requires a signature from every owner regardless of the conjunction (and/or).
The writing and mailing fees for vehicles/vessels is increased to $2.00.
When property is transferred and there are no hazards that would require an actual groundwater hazard form to be filed, in lieu of filing the groundwater, the conveyance document would need to have the following statement on the first page of the deed/instrument:
There is no known private burial site, well, solid waste disposal site, underground storage tank, hazardous waste, or private sewage disposal system on the property as described in Iowa Code section 558.69, and therefore the transaction is exempt from the requirement to submit a groundwater hazard statement.
The office of County Recorder was created by the First Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Iowa in 1839. The County Recorder’s office is at the hub of the courthouse function to serve you. A significant portion of duties performed by other county officials is dependent on the work performed by the Recorder’s office.
The Recorder maintains official records of documents affecting real estate. These include: deeds, contracts, mortgages, assignments, releases, federal and state tax liens, affidavits, plats and surveys, section corner certificates, easements, condemnations, leases, bills of sale. They also record trade names, 28E agreements, military service records and other numerous documents.
The Recorder/Registrar issues marriage licenses; boat, snowmobile & ATV registrations; vital records (as of July 1, 1997-births, deaths and marriage certificates) and sells hunting & fishing licenses.
Birth, death, marriage and land records are available for genealogy research.
ATV Safety Course
GET YOUR CERTIFICATE ONLINE IN 3 EASY STEPS
(1) Study the ONLINE course at (course is FREE-certificate will cost)
► www.atvcourse.com/usa/iowa ($34.95)
► www.atvsafety.org ($25.00)
(2) Pass the ONLINE Exam
(3) Pay the FEE for the Certificate and either print it or it will be sent to you.